On Suffering Well

“In what ways is the Lord asking you to suffer in this life?  How can you suffer well and take refuge in Him?”Jenna Hines, for Blessed Is She

The Lord has led me to a full vocation – wife, mother, and teacher.  With it comes love, joy, excitement, laughter, accomplishment, service, peace, and, surely, holiness.  But with this vocation also comes routine, checklists, time blocks, scheduling, sacrifice, and, yes, moments and days of mundane.

When I clean off Annie’s tray, filled with food prepped yet left uneaten or tossed aside, the Lord calls me to suffer well.  When I wash the dishes, pack lunches, sort and fold laundry again, the Lord calls me to suffer well.  When the to-do list lengthens and my planner fills, the Lord calls me to suffer well.  When Annie wakes up for the third time in the night and I stumble in to soothe her cries, the Lord calls me to suffer well.  When my lessons fall short and my directions hang unheard, the Lord calls me to suffer well.  When a child refuses to do what I’ve asked, when Annie cries despite my presence, when Adam is anxious or wired or spent, the Lord calls me to suffer well!

“Can you accept the reality of the situation?” – Fr. James Martin, S.J. in The Jesuit Guide to (Almost) Everything

Leave a Reply

